FIFA confirm 14 nominees for The Best Men’s Player 2022 award


FIFA have unveiled a 14-player shortlist for The Best Men’s Player award for 2022.

The world football governing body has announced that this year’s award will be handed out based on performances from the start of the 2021/22 season up until the conclusion of the 2022 World Cup.

After leading Argentina to glory in Qatar, Lionel Messi is unsurprisingly the headline name on the shortlist. He finished second in last year’s award to Robert Lewandowski, who has also been nominated again.

Messi is not the only member of Argentina’s squad up for The Best award, with Manchester City’s Julian Alvarez receiving a nomination.

The forward is joined on the shortlist by club-mates Kevin De Bruyne and Erling Haaland.

The only other player nominated currently playing their club football in England is Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah, though former teammate Sadio Mane, now of Bayern Munich, is too shortlisted.

In addition to Messi, PSG stars Kylian Mbappe, Neymar and Achraf Hakimi have all been rewarded with nominations.

European champions Real Madrid have three players on the shortlist, with Luka Modric, Vinicius Junior and Ballon d’Or holder Karim Benzema making the cut.

Borussia Dortmund and England midfielder Jude Bellingham is the youngest player on the shortlist at 19 years of age.

Voting for the award is split into four groups – media representatives, national team coaches, national team captains and fan votes. Each group will have 25% of the overall vote.

The Best Men’s Player 2022 shortlist: 

Julian Alvarez

Jude Bellingham

Karim Benzema

Kevin De Bruyne

Erling Haaland

Achraf Hakimi

Robert Lewanadowski

Sadio Mane

Kylian Mbappe

Lionel Messi

Luka Modric


Mohamed Salah

Vinicius Junior

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *