Cricket: Challengers CC crowned RCA T20 Champions

Challengers CC were crowned champions of the just-concluded 2023 Dafabet RCA T20 Men’s tournament after beating rivals Telugu Royals CC by 9 wickets in a final game held last weekend at Gahanga Cricket Stadium.

The tournament, which attracted six men’s teams saw Challengers finish the campaign victorious despite stiff competition from the likes of finalists Telugu Royals who were among hot favorites to win it.

Challengers won the toss and elected to bowl first, giving Telugu Royals to bat in the first innings.

The teams went to the innings break after the Royals set 92 runs before the players were all eliminated in the 17th over.

It took Challengers just 12 overs to chase the score and went on to defeat Telugu Royals by 9 wickets.

“Team work and learning from the mistakes that cost us the T10 tournament helped us win this title. We now look forward to winning more tournaments coming our way,” said Challengers captain Srinath Vardhineni.

The champions were given the trophy and cheque of Rwf1,000,000 while Telugu Royals walked away with a cash prize Rwf500,0000.

Individual prizes:

  • Best batter: Robinson Obuya of Challengers CC (Rwf100,000)
  • Best bowler: Moramudi Ramu of Telugu Royals CC (Rwf100, 000)
  • Top six hitter: Robinson Obuya of Challengers CC (Rwf70,000)
  • Best fielder: Robinson Obuya of Challengers CC (Rwf70,000)
  • Player of the tournament: Roger Mukasa Telugu Royals CC (Rwf200,000)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *