Premier League confirm 15-player shortlist for Hall of Fame

The Premier League has announced a 15-player shortlist of nominees for the Hall of Fame class of 2023.

Earlier in the week the Premier League revealed that Sir Alex Ferguson and Arsene Wenger had become the first managers to be inducted into the Hall of Fame, and three of the shortlisted players will join 16 others who have been inducted in previous years.

The nominees for the 2023 Hall of Fame class include Arsenal legends Tony Adams and Sol Campbell, Manchester United icons Andy Cole, Gary Neville and Rio Ferdinand, former Chelsea and England captain John Terry and one of Manchester City’s most revered players, Yaya Toure.

Fans can vote for the three players – who are only eligible if they retired before the start of the year – they want to enter the Hall of Fame, with the winning players set to be announced on Wednesday 3rd May.

Who are the 15 players shortlisted for 2023?

  • Tony Adams
  • Ashley Cole
  • Gary Neville
  • Sol Campbell
  • Jermain Defoe
  • Michael Owen
  • Michael Carrick
  • Les Ferdinand
  • John Terry
  • Petr Cech
  • Rio Ferdinand
  • Yaya Toure
  • Andy Cole
  • Robbie Fowler
  • Nemanja Vidic

Who is already in the Premier League Hall of Fame?

The Premier League Hall of Fame was created in 2021, with eight players inducted that year before a further eight joined the elite group a year later.

Class of 2021

  • Alan Shearer
  • Thierry Henry
  • Eric Cantona
  • Roy Keane
  • Frank Lampard
  • Dennis Bergkamp
  • Steven Gerrard
  • David Beckham

Class of 2022

  • Wayne Rooney
  • Patrick Vieira
  • Sergio Aguero
  • Didier Drogba
  • Vincent Kompany
  • Peter Schmeichel
  • Paul Scholes
  • Ian Wright

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *