Premier League: Erling Haaland, David de Gea and Kevin De Bruyne win Castrol Golden Awards

It’s been a truly historic season of Premier League football.

Records have been shattered (mostly by Erling Haaland), wonderful goals have been scored, shocking results have occurred, and a thrilling title race and relegation battle have both been enjoyed.

After all that, it’s time to hand out some awards.

Here’s the three winners of Castrol’s Golden Awards:

1. Golden Boot – Erling Haaland
Erling Haaland

A lot was expected of Erling Haaland when he signed for Manchester City in the summer of 2022 and, somehow, he’s managed to exceed all of those expectations.

In his first season in the Premier League the Norwegian has broken the all-time single-season scoring record in the division by bagging 36 – surpassing both Alan Shearer and Andy Cole – and helped his side to a league title.

He’s a truly remarkable talent.

2. Playmaker – Kevin De Bruyne
Kevin De Bruyne

A player who’s played a massive part in Haaland’s goalscoring is Kevin De Bruyne.

The Belgian has cemented his legacy as one of the Premier League’s greatest ever players in 2022/23 with his unmatched eye for a pass and 16 assists.

De Bruyne is now one of the top five goal creators in the league’s history.

3. Golden Glove – David de Gea

For the second time in his career, David de Gea has won the Golden Glove award.

The Man Utd number one has been crucial to his side’s much-improved performances in 2022/23, racking up an impressive 17 clean sheets.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *