Napoli clinch first Serie A title after 33 years

When did Napoli win Serie A title? Diego Maradona’s old club seals first Italian title in 33 years.

After decades of domestic struggles, Napoli have dominated the 2022/23 Serie A season like never before.

Luciano Spalletti’s side have lost just three of their league games so far this campaign to cement their place at the top of the table.

Now with some serious distance between Napoli and their closest challengers — they are ahead by 16 points over second-place Lazio — Napoli have finally clinched the Scudetto.

The title is the first for the club in 33 years, last winning the Italian top flight in 1990 when Diego Maradona led Napoli to the summit of Italian football.

When did Napoli win Serie A title?

On May 4, Napoli sealed the title with a 1-1 draw at Udinese, putting them 16 points ahead of second-place Lazio with just five matches remaining.

Lazio had staved off the inevitable the previous day by beating Sassuolo, but the point by Napoli was enough to see them through to an unreachable level.

Napoli now have 80 points, and while they are unable to reach the incredible record for points in a season set by Juventus with 102 back in 2014, they can still eclipse their own club high-water mark of 91 from back in 2018.

In 2021/22, AC Milan lifted the title having picked up 86 points, while the season before it was Inter Milan who triumphed with 91 points.

Napoli’s remaining Serie A games

With Napoli now just chasing their best possible point total, a look at the schedule over the final five matches of the season gives them a few notable matches with which to reward fans for their support this season.

Napoli’s toughest remaining matches are home games against Fiorentina (May 7) and Inter Milan (May 21), while road trips at Monza (May 14) and Bologna (May 28) are less intimidating.

Napoli was eliminated from the UEFA Champions League to fellow Italian side AC Milan in the quarterfinals. With that competition out of the way, and the club out of the Coppa Italia as well, the Partenopei now have no more competitive fronts to fight on, and can cruise through the end of the season.

Sun, May 7Napoli vs Fiorentina10th
Sun, May 14Monza vs Napoli12th
Sun, May 21Napoli vs Inter6th
Sun, May 28Bologna vs Napoli8th
Sun, June 4Napoli vs Sampdoria20th


How many times have Napoli won Serie A?

Prior to this season, Napoli have won the Serie A title just twice in their history with those triumphs coming in 1986/87 and 1989/90.

Their first scudetto saw Maradona shine bright as they beat Juventus to the league title by three points, despite Ottavio Bianchi’s Napoli side drawing their final three games.

Three years later, and after consecutive second-place finishes, Napoli lifted the scudetto for a second time with five straight wins to end their 1989/90 campaign.

In addition to those triumphs, the Partenopei have finished as runners-up in Serie A eight times. Only four other clubs have finished second more often.

Napoli trophies in club history

Napoli have one of the largest and most passionate fan bases in Italy, but trophies have been hard to come by since the club was formed in 1926.

The club’s most successful spell was authored by Argentine legend Diego Maradona in the late 1980s and early 1990s, but the club subsequently fell on hard financial times. It’s on sound footing today, and has successfully recruited top coaches and players.

The 2022/23 team is led by manager Luciano Spalletti and Serie A top scorer Victor Osimhen, who is one of the most coveted forwards in the sport. Recent signing Khvicha Kvaratskhelia has taken Serie A by storm with the 22-year-old Georgian already earning the nickname ‘Kvara-dona’ from the Napoli faithful.

Serie A (Italian league title)

  • 1986/87
  • 1989/90
  • 2022/23

Coppa Italia (Italian Cup)

  • 1961/62
  • 1975/76
  • 1986/87
  • 2011/12
  • 2013/14
  • 2019/20

Supercoppa Italiana (Italian Super Cup)

  • 1990
  • 2014

UEFA Cup (European tournament)

  • 1988/89

Serie B (2nd division)

  • 1945/46
  • 1949/50

Serie C (3rd division)

  • 2005/06

Napoli Serie A

All hail Napoli's new immortals! Victor Osimhen, Khvicha Kvaratskhelia &  Luciano Spalletti have made Diego Maradona proud with stunning Serie A  title triumph |

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *