David de Gea secures second Premier League Golden Glove award


David de Gea has officially secured the Premier League Golden Glove for the second time in his Man Utd career.

Despite the team’s ups and downs throughout the 2022/23 season, Man Utd have generally been solid at the back thanks to the partnership of Raphael Varane and Lisandro Martinez. The pair, along with De Gea’s improved performances in between the sticks, have meant that the Man Utd number one has been able to bag himself 16 league clean sheets.

De Gea’s 16th clean sheet came in the 2-0 win over Wolves at Old Trafford on Saturday – a clean sheet which means that no goalkeeper can now overtake the Spaniard in the Golden Glove race.

While there is still a possibility for Alisson Becker, Nick Pope, and Aaron Ramsdale to match De Gea’s record, they are currently three clean sheets behind with three matches remaining in the season.

This marks the second time De Gea has claimed the Golden Glove during his tenure at Manchester United, having previously achieved the feat in the 2017/18 season with 18 clean sheets.

Despite his recent success, De Gea’s future at the club remains uncertain. His contract is set to expire at the end of the season, and negotiations for a new deal have yet to be finalised.

90min, however, recently reported that the club are nearing an agreement regarding a new contract, with reduced terms, with the goalkeeper.

Recent errors have raised questions among Man Utd fans regarding whether or not the club should give De Gea a new contract, with mistakes in defeats to Sevilla and West Ham proving to be rather alarming.

However, United manager Ten Hag expressed his unwavering support for the goalkeeper, stating: “He has the most clean sheets in the league, so we would not be here in this position without him. He fully has my belief. No concerns with him. It happens, but as a team, you have to deal with it, show character, be resilient, and bounce back. We want him to stay and extend his contract.”

David de Gea has spent the last 12 seasons at Manchester United.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *